Liberte Urban Chic Lounge at the Sofitel Hotel….The Euro experience.

Hello My Foodie Followers…tonight we dined at Liberte Urban chic Lounge at the Sofitel Hotel.  We arrived in NYC style at 8pm.  Upon entering, we waited at the hostess stand for seating.  After a few minutes, one of the hotel staff came and took us to our table.  The manager came over and greeted us.  Kate, our server, was the next to see us.  She took our drink order and dashed off.  On the table, they have spring and sparkling water.  We chose the spring in a Diane Von Furstenburg limited edition bottle of Evian.  A very cool looking bottle.  Kate returned and noticed we had already opened our water.  She offered us lemon for our water, but never returned with it.  Soon our cocktail order arrived.  I had the usual and Al ordered a Victory Prima Pils.  We gave our food orders and a bread basket was served.  A couple of Philadelphia pretzel rolls, sour dough, and an olive roll.  Butter and basil mustard accompanied the bread basket.  As we nibbled on our bread, We noticed the different people in the restaurant.  A woman sitting with a man was flipping her hair.  An Asian man and American woman were playing touchie..although he spent most of his time on phone texting.  A older couple who looked like they were on a date sat in the corner…an interesting group nonetheless…Our appetizers arrived and I started with a caesar salad, great dressing, and crispy croutons.  I asked Kate for fresh ground pepper and she called one of the wait staff to fetch it.  He arrived back and I asked for course grain.  He had no clue what I was asking and I showed him how to use the pepper mill.  Cute kid.  An anchovie topped the salad, which I gave to Al.  Al had the salmon tartare, served with cucumber slices, olives and two great crostinis.  Al ordered a 2nd Victory Prima Pils and I continued with my original drink.  Our entrees arrived next.  I had the filet mignon, asparagus, and twice baked potato with a demi-glaze.  Al had the wheat linguini served with seasonal veggies.  My filet, although over cooked, was one of the tenderest filets I ever ordered..bar none!  The twice baked was a single serving..perfect for those watching and grilled asparagus spears.  Al had a perfectly sized portion of linguini.  He felt it was the right amount without being over done.  We told Kate my steak was overdone and she offered to take it back..I told her I do not send food back and would eat it.  She then said a dessert tray was coming over to us complimentary for the overdone steak.  A creme brulee and a trio of chocolate delights were served.  Absolutely the right size and a great ending to a good meal.  As were preparing to leave, I asked the manager if we could get a bottle of the spring water.  He graciously retrieved it and gave it to us.  I award Liberte Urban Chic Lounge 4.25 out of 5 Diva Crowns!  Bon Appetit! 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Liberte Urban Chic Lounge at the Sofitel Hotel….The Euro experience.

  1. Al says:

    The salmon tartare was very good and very fresh with a slight hint of horseradish. The creme brulee though, was the best part of the meal; even though that’s not the type of dessert I normally go for. I would like to go back to the restaurant again, and maybe try the lamb burger.

Leave a Reply

