Valanni Social Club brunch on Trinity Sunday

Hello my Foodie Followers…We had a beautiful brunch at one of my favorite eateries in Philadelphia, PA  (www.valanni.com) after service on Trinity Sunday with an out of town friend.  We arrived around 12:45pm with a reservation and were seated immediately.  Our server, David, was quick to greet us with a smile and to take our cocktail order. I had the signature bloody mary served with a grilled shrimp and an old bay rimmed glass, Al had the Anchor Porter beer, and our guest, Dave, had the classic mimosa.  Water was brought over and our food order was given.  I had the smoked salmon platter with a nice sized bagel, not overly huge, served with cream cheese, capers, onions, tomatoes and celery.  Al had the poached eggs with lobster and a horseradish cream sauce.  I tasted his lobster and cream sauce, it was smooth, spicy, and bold, yet delicate enough to be served with lobster.  Dave ordered the filet and eggs.  Both of them had potatoes on the side.  We opted out for desserts.  Everything was delicious and beautifully presented.  I award Valanni 4.75 out of 5 Diva Crowns.  Bon Appetit!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Valanni Social Club brunch on Trinity Sunday

  1. Paula Jones says:

    I’ve had a lot of bagels in my day. My favorite bagel: the everything bagel. My least favorite bagel: no such thing.

    Having read a few of these reviews now, I have surmised that Al likes his seafood, and you FF, are a very particular consumer.

    I would love to know how you found the shrimp that topped your bloody mary. I gargle with horseradish cream sauce, gimme it.

  2. Dear Paula….I agree so much with you…is there really a bad bagel? I will say that I prefer a savory (ie. onion, garlic, everything) to a sweet bagel (blueberry, cranberry, etc)…I was pleasantly surprised that the bagel was much more portioned controlled.. Al is mostly vegetarian (he does eat seafood and dairy). Valanni really does have an amazingly tasty signature bloody Mary. The shrimp skewer is purely a treat….Thank you for your response to our Valanni Brunch! And we will continue to dine, one bite at a time!

    Bon Appetit,
    FF

    • Ruby says:

      You aren’t kidding! If I were stranded on an island with only a giant bagel on which to float back to civilization, I’d probably end up eating it before setting sea. I’ve always wanted to order one of those bagel n lox plates for breakfast, but I lack the courage, so I order something else and then someone else orders it and I am left feeling like a real dork.

  3. Dear Ruby…as a fellow bagel lover, I’m right there with you. I definitely recommend the smoked salmon platter…it’s a real treat! Do yourself a favor and order it next time you are at Valanni! All the best, FF

  4. Jen says:

    Boys, boys, boys. Lox are terrible. The texture is gag inducive, bagel or no. Al seems a litte “food curious/confused”. Flesh is flesh, and vegetarians don’t eat it, not in fish, fowl, or beastie form. He may be a contrarian vegetarian! As for the bloody, top mine with a mini cheeseburger or don’t even bring it out. I do agree with you about bagels, is there a more perfect food? I don’t think so.
    Rock on, FF!

  5. The Foodie Follower says:

    Dear Jen…Thank you for your visual interpretation. although, I must disagree with you regarding the lox…I think a smoked salmon platter is delectable. As for Al and his vegetarianism…that’s his thing, not mine. I eat fish, fowl and beastie. Unless you are a non-seafood eater, you simply must try the bloody valanni… Thanks again! and you Rock, Jen! Bon Appetit, FF

Leave a Reply

